Materials checked out after January 1, 2011 that become overdue will be assessed a daily fine of $0.10 per item. Users have a three-day grace period to return overdue materials. On the fourth day, fines will be imposed for every day the item is overdue, including the grace period.
The following groups of individuals are eligible for direct borrowing privileges from the State Library of Louisiana. In all cases, a signed registration form must be on file with the State Library of Louisiana before service can begin.
Information, reference, and loan services of the state library are available direct to:
- state elected and appointed officials and state employees including those who are retired;
- members of the Louisiana public information media accredited by the Louisiana Press Association or the Louisiana Association of Broadcasters;
- officers and employees of agencies listed in the Louisiana State Government Directory;
- students and faculty members of the Louisiana State University Graduate School of Library and Information Science;
- all public, academic, special, and state institutional libraries whether in or outside of the state;
- State Library of Louisiana Board of Commissioners.
Most materials in the library collection of the State Library may be borrowed. Rare books, paper copies of newspapers, Louisiana vertical file pieces, full multi-volume sets, reference materials, and some genealogy materials are not loaned. The audiovisual collection and materials for the blind and physically handicapped have loan restrictions.
A maximum of 25 items may be charged to a borrower’s account at any given time. Five reels of microfilm may be borrowed at one time in person or through interlibrary loan. Staff will pull seven periodicals from the backfiles at one time. The normal loan period for materials is 28 days. Materials with reserves are loaned for 21 days. Materials may be renewed twice for a total loan period of 84 days. Renewals will not be made on materials with reserves.
Books and other materials are loaned free of charge. Patrons registered with the State Library are financially responsible for lost or damaged materials that have been charged out to their account. Effective January 1, 2011, a $25.00 per item processing fee will be added to the replacement cost of all lost or damaged items. If an item is returned within the same fiscal year in which it was lost and paid, then the user is entitled to a refund of the replacement charge. No refund is available after the end of the fiscal year.
Borrowing libraries are responsible for the cost of lost or damaged material from the time it leaves the State Library until it is received back at the State Library.