How to Find Sheet Music for a Song
1) Call numbers provided below are for books in the State Library Collection.
2) Reference copies are marked with an asterisk *.
Books -- Indexes
*016.78 Hil -- Index to early music in selected anthologies. [Classical music] Hilton.
*016.7802 Mur -- Anthologies of music: an annotated index. [Classical music] Murray.
*016.781 Fin -- Finding list of vocal music. 
*016.7815 Goo -- Wedding music: an index to collections.  Goodfellow.
*016.7816 Mus -- Musi*key. [Bimonthly]
*016.782 Chi -- Children's song index, 1978-1993. Laughlin.
*016.7822 Ind -- Index to Negro spirituals. Cleveland Public Library.
*016.78225 Abr 1999 -- Index to African-American spirituals for the solo voice. Abromeit.
*016.7824 Goo -- SongCite: an index to popular songs. [1995 + supp, 1999] Goodfellow.
*016.7824 Goo -- Where's that tune?: an index to songs in fakebooks.  Goodfellow
*016.78242 Luc 1998 -- Song index of the Enoch Pratt Free Library.  Luchinsky.
*016.783 Mus -- Music locator. [Gospel/Christian, 1988] Cunningham.
*016.784 Cus -- Children's song index.  Cushing.
*016.784 Hav -- Popular song index. [1st supp, 1978 – 4th supp, 2005] Havlice.
*016.784 Sea -- Song index . Sears.
*016.7843 Gol -- Literature for voice. Goleeke.
*016.7846 Pet -- Index to children's songs.  Peterson.
*781.97 Lei -- Index to song books... published between 1933 and 1962. Leigh.
*783.6 DeC -- Songs in collections.  Desiree de Charms.
*783.65 Stu -- Christmas carols: a reference guide. Studwell.
*783.9 Die -- Hymns and tunes. Diehl.
*784.4 Bru -- Folk song index.  Brunnings.
*784.54 Fin -- Find that tune.  Gargan.
*Ready Ref 016.7824 Fer -- Song finder: a title index to 32,000 popular songs in collections, 1854-1992. Ferguson.
*Ready Ref 781.63 Den -- Sheet music magazine Index. Denning.
UT Song Index.
This database provides access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1,500 published song anthologies owned by the George F. DeVine Music Library at the University of Tennessee, located in Knoxville.
UW Popular Song Database.
Indexes song titles in some collections held by the University of Washington's Music Library that are not indexed in the Library's catalog or not included in Where's that tune? : an index to songs in fakebooks by William D. Goodfellow.
LAPL Song Index.
Search for songs in books owned by Los Angeles Public Library.
ASU Song Index.
http://info.lib.asu.edu/BRS/gate.exe?f=search&state=20t249.1.1 Arizona State University.
SCPL Sheet Music Catalog.
The Santa Cruz Public Libraries' sheet music collection contains more than 25,000 pieces of popular, traditional, and folk music, issues of Sheet Music Magazine from 1977 up to the present, and songbooks. Most of the music in the collection is for piano and guitar.
Digital Sheet Music Project - Univ. South Carolina Music Library
This searchable database provides access to the bibliographic records and, for those pieces in the public domain, access to images of the cover and each page of music. Currently, the collection contains over 10,000 pieces of classical, popular, and sacred music from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Popular music -- Fake books -- Indexes.
Popular music – Indexes
Songs -- Indexes.
Songs, English -- United States -- Indexes.
Children's songs -- Indexes.
Vertical file and fugitive file
Search under “song – [title of song]”
To find the names of songwriters or contact info for song publishers:
ACE title search.
ACE is a database of song titles licensed by ASCAP in the United States. For each title, you can find the names of the songwriters and the names, contact persons, addresses and, in most cases, phone numbers of publishers to contact if you want to use the work. For most of the titles, you'll find some of the artists who have made a commercial recording.
Does the same thing as ACE title search above.